Randolph County
District: 8
County Engineer: Michael K. Riebeling
Appointment Date: 7/25/1990
Address: P.O. Box 243, 609 S. Chester Street
Sparta, IL 62286
Telephone: (618) 443-3213
Fax: (618) 443-4611

County Background:
Established on October 5, 1795, Randolph County was just the 2nd county in Illinois and was originally created as a county of the Northwest Territory by Governor St. Clair. The County is named after Edmund Randolph, member of the Continental Congress, Attorney General and Governor of Virginia, U.S. Secretary of State and Attorney General under Washington.

County Population: 32852
Land Area (Sq. Miles): 589
Assessed Valuation: 459366793
State Highway Mileage: 137
County Highway Mileage: 134
Township Highway Mileage: 649
Municipal Highway Mileage: 210
County Seat: Chester
State House District(s): 116
State Senate District(s): 58
U.S. Congressional Distict(s): 12

Past Engineers
Henry I. Barbeau11/14/19133/18/1920
Phillip Rodenberg3/19/19207/14/1920
Charles Jung3/25/19217/1/1923
Phillip Rodenberg7/2/192312/22/1924
John R. Rankin11/25/192511/16/1942
Donald O. Baker11/27/19422/28/1949
Arthur J. Hessman7/15/195912/31/1973
Lester Holcomb1/3/197412/31/1989