Effingham County
District: 7
County Engineer: Greg A. Koester
Appointment Date: 7/7/1997
Address: 101 N. 4th St., Suite #304
Effingham, IL 62401
Telephone: (217) 342-6550
Fax: (217) 342-6124

Engineer Bio:
Greg received a B.S. in Civil Engineering from the University of Illinois in 1992. Greg worked for a consulting firm for five years in the St. Louis area before moving back to his hometown of Effingham when he was appointed as the county engineer 1997.

County Background:
Established on February 15, 1831, Effingham County is named after Lord Edward Effingham, who resigned his commission as general in the British army, 1775, refusing to serve in the war against the colonies.

County Population: 34242
Land Area (Sq. Miles): 475
Assessed Valuation: 518000000
State Highway Mileage: 190
County Highway Mileage: 144
Township Highway Mileage: 730
Municipal Highway Mileage: 141
County Seat: Effingham
State House District(s): 107, 109
State Senate District(s): 54, 55
U.S. Congressional Distict(s): 19

Past Engineers
George T. Austin9/1/19133/1/1935
Harold A. Dodge7/1/19336/15/1971
Jack W. Johnson6/16/19716/16/1996