DeWitt County
District: 5
County Engineer: Mark Mathon
Appointment Date: 7/23/2014
Address: 9900 Revere Road
Clinton, IL 61727-2744
Telephone: (217) 935-2438
Fax: (217) 935-4817

County Background:
Originally part of Macon County, DeWitt County was established on March 1, 1839. The County is named after DeWitt Clinton, a distinguished lawyer, financier and statesman, Mayor of the city and Governor of the State of New York, United States Senator and chief promoter of the Erie Canal.

County Population: 16561
Land Area (Sq. Miles): 401
Assessed Valuation: 466246810
State Highway Mileage: 97
County Highway Mileage: 96
Township Highway Mileage: 573
Municipal Highway Mileage: 83
County Seat: Clinton
State House District(s): 101
State Senate District(s): 51
U.S. Congressional Distict(s): 15

Past Engineers
Melvin Tuggle3/11/19153/8/1921
William Querfeld3/9/192112/31/1925
George W. Givens1/1/192611/24/1935
W. G. Hunt11/25/19356/30/1949
John M. Bloss7/20/19448/15/1949
W. F. Jeschawitz7/1/19499/30/1952
George D. Timm10/1/19522/29/1956
Glen Cougill3/13/19564/30/1967
Randal Malone11/1/19674/30/1979
Philip Koeberlein5/1/197910/31/1991
Jesse L. Johns, Sr.4/14/19916/30/1997
Craig Fink7/1/19974/21/2014