Macon County
District: 7
County Engineer: Bruce H. Bird
Appointment Date: 10/19/1999
Address: 2405 N. Woodford St.
Decatur, IL 62526-4704
Telephone: (217) 424-1404
Fax: (217) 424-2516

Engineer Bio:
Bruce H. Bird is currently serving as the Macon County Engineer in Decatur, Illinois. Bruce received his Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign in 1987. He worked for the Illinois Department of Transportation, District 5 in Paris, Illinois on construction projects in and around Macon County until 1992. He then was employed as a Civil Engineer for the City of Urbana Public Works Department tending to various municipal projects. In 1999 he answered the call to county government and has been the Macon County Engineer ever since. In addition to his duties as County Engineer he has served on the Decatur Urban Area Transportation Study, the Regional Planning Commission, and was instrumental in establishing Rural Transit to Macon County. He also serves on several Illinois Association of County Engineer committees and was its 99th President. He is also active in the National Association of County Engineers and the American Road and Transit Builders Association.

County Background:
Established on January 19, 1829, Macon County is named after Nathaniel Macon, a Colonel during the Revolution and later a Representative and U.S. Senator in Congress from North Carolina. He strenuously opposed the adoption of the U.S. Constitution as conferring powers on the Federal government which should be reserved to the States.

County Population: 110768
Land Area (Sq. Miles): 580
Assessed Valuation: 1600000000
State Highway Mileage: 173
County Highway Mileage: 234
Township Highway Mileage: 785
Municipal Highway Mileage: 536
County Seat: Decatur
State House District(s): 96, 101
State Senate District(s): 48, 51
U.S. Congressional Distict(s): 13

Past Engineers
Preston T. Hicks12/10/191310/12/1923
Paul T. Oetzel3/11/19243/28/1935
Alan N. Buck3/29/19353/1/1958
William O. Kinsel3/12/19584/8/1971
Charles E. Johnson10/15/19711/28/1981
Donald R. Johnson7/13/19811/23/1993
William C. Monson5/1/19933/29/1999