Kane County
District: 1
County Engineer: Carl Schoedel
Appointment Date: 5/13/2003
Address: 41W011 Burlington Rd.
St. Charles, IL 60175
Telephone: (630) 584-1170
Fax: (630) 584-5265

Engineer Bio:
Carl Schoedel earned his B.S. in Civil Engineering from Washington University in 1986 and a Master of Planning from IUPUI School of Public and Environmental Affairs in 1995. He is the recipient of several prestigious awards, including: 2018 National Association of County Engineers Urban County Engineer of the Year awards, 2011 American Public Works Association-Chicago Metro “Top Ten Public Works Leaders of the Year”, 2013 American Society of Civil Engineers-Illinois “Government Civil Engineer of the Year” and 2015 American Public Works Association - National Award for Community Involvement. Mr. Schoedel's professional background includes extensive experience in regional transportation planning, highway engineering, public policy, and utility management. Joining Kane County’s staff in 1997, Mr. Schoedel has served the Division of Transportation as Permit Engineer and later Chief of Planning & Programming. Carl was appointed as County Engineer in 2003 and Director of Transportation in February 2005. Carl is also a Fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) and the President of the Transportation Officials Division of the American Road and Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA). At home, he oversees a significant capital improvement program in a high-growth metropolitan County, awarding over $315 million in construction contracts since his appointment as County Engineer. Most notably, he oversaw the implementation of the nationally recognized Stearns Road Bridge corridor, a $160 million High Priority Project, which was awarded the 2012 National ARTBA-TDF Globe Award for Sustainability and the 2011 ACEC-Illinois Chapter “Eminent Conceptor” Award. Carl is currently overseeing a second, once in a lifetime regionally significant project – the $115 million, 5.6 mile Longmeadow Parkway Bridge Corridor.

County Background:
Established on January 16,1836, Kane County is named after Elias Kent Kane, a pioneer lawyer, Territorial judge, prominent member of the Constitutional Convention of 1818, first Secretary of State of Illinois, and later United States Senator.

County Population: 534667
Land Area (Sq. Miles): 520
Assessed Valuation: 7290559874
State Highway Mileage: 212
County Highway Mileage: 312
Township Highway Mileage: 602
Municipal Highway Mileage: 921
County Seat: Geneva
State House District(s): 43, 49, 50, 52, 65, 66, 70, 83, 84
State Senate District(s): 22, 25, 26, 33, 35, 42
U.S. Congressional Distict(s): 14

Past Engineers
George Lamb12/10/19138/18/1918
Claude L. Hansen8/1/191912/31/1968
William E. Carter1/1/19691/1/1984
Nabi Fakroddin3/1/198411/30/1997
Jeffrey S. Dailey12/6/199711/12/2002